treemyi.blogg.se

Neatdesk for mac
Neatdesk for mac







neatdesk for mac
  1. #Neatdesk for mac how to#
  2. #Neatdesk for mac install#
  3. #Neatdesk for mac software#
  4. #Neatdesk for mac plus#
  5. #Neatdesk for mac free#

Normally I would have ordered a product like this from Amazon to get my free 2-day shipping, but the Mac version started shipping the day I ordered it last week from Neat, so it wasn't available for purchase on Amazon.

#Neatdesk for mac plus#

It just gives the impression that if you have any questions or issues, Neatco would be there.Neat's running a promo on their site right now with $100 off the retail price of the Mac NeatDesk plus free shipping. I also like how in the quickstart guide, Neatco has a “Community” page which outlines the support options, forums, tutorials, live chat, etc. The best part, in my opinion, is the tight integration with NeatWorks, which is a great program. I really like how they included the cleaning cloth with the scanner- awesome touch. The paper input tray is a great idea for keeping paper types separate. Having said that, the NeatDesk does have some improvements.

neatdesk for mac

With the NeatDesk, having to line up the exit tray, plug it in, turn on the power switch (which the ScanSnap doesn’t have), then go through the whole calibration thing is a bit of a hassle.

#Neatdesk for mac install#

With the ScanSnap, you install the software, plug it in, and hit one button and you’re going. I think Neatco could improve the simplicity aspect too. Is it as fast as the ScanSnap? No, the ScanSnap is a bit faster, especially when scanning color. The NeatDesk is a great scanner and I like it a lot. Since I only have a ScanSnap S300M and not the S1500M, I didn’t think it was fair to do a side by side. Obviously the question everyone will be asking is “how does it compare to the ScanSnap?”. The OCRing and Spotlight integration (on the Mac) is cool too. It attempts to read and classify the documents that scan in, and while that part of it isn’t perfect, at least it is a start. I will do a separate post about NeatWorks, but in short, I really like the program.

#Neatdesk for mac software#

The NeatDesk comes with one piece of software called NeatWorks, which is also available separately (for the Mac anyways). I tried the same receipt in the NeatDesk scanner, and while it didn’t throw an error, it didn’t scan the whole receipt either. My ScanSnap S300M does not like long receipts, and threw an error message when I tried scanning one particular one. In the help it says (in bold no less) to scan the paper face down, but you actually have to do it face up. There was one issue- it picked up the 2 receipts at the same time, which is a bit of a drag.īy the way, one annoying thing. Speed was decent, and the resulting images were excellent quality. Scanning Different DocumentsĪs a first test, I scanned a stack of documents of different sizes, and 2 receipts, and 3 business cards using the paper input tray. Once you take it out, it holds 50 documents. If you scan mostly documents, it probably makes sense to take that out which is very easy to do. With the tray in, it can take 10 documents, 10 receipts, and 10 business cards. The NeatDesk has a pretty cool feature – a paper input tray that can separate out documents, receipts, and business cards. I tried calibrating again and this time it worked perfectly, and I didn’t hit the issue again. I did some searching on NeatCo’s forum and found that some Mac users were experiencing the double-blinking issue when doing multi-page scans.

neatdesk for mac

Both lights were blinking green but nothing was happening, and eventually they turned to both blinking red. The paper started feeding through, made some noises, and than halfway through… nothing. I put in the calibration sheet and clicked the Calibrate button onscreen, and the process started:Īt that point, I hit my first snag (well, second if you don’t count the fact that I didn’t notice the power button). In fact, in the Quick Start Guide, they actually give you special calibration sheet that they recommend that you use: The first thing the instructions say to do after setting up the NeatDesk is running Calibration. Then, you install the included NeatWorks software, and plug everything in. There is a paper exit tray that does not actually attach to the scanner it just sits under it. Setting the NeatDesk up was pretty simple. I shot a quick unboxing video that shows what is in the box.

#Neatdesk for mac how to#

This review will be done in three parts- the NeatDesk scanner, the NeatWorks software, and (sorry Neatco) how to use the NeatWorks software with the ScanSnap scanner. I’ve gotten a number of requests from readers asking me to check out the NeatDesk scanner and NeatWorks software, so I’m thrilled that Neatco came through and sent me one to check out for you guys. There is a Mac and Windows version, and I will be reviewing the Mac version. I just got back from a quick road trip to Portland (love Powell’s), and I had a nice surprise waiting- a review copy of the NeatDesk scanner from Neatco.









Neatdesk for mac